Home Scholarship Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship 2022

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship 2022

Commonwealth Master's ScholarshipIf your country is one that supports the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship, studying abroad has become a dream come true. With this, you can now pursue your goals of studying in some of the most reputable universities.

This post contains facts about the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship in full detail. It also includes detailed information on the requirements for the scholarship and how to apply for it. Also, ensure you stick to the end so you won’t miss a single detail but increase your chances of success.


What are the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships?

These scholarships result from the joint initiative between UK universities and UK government-funded Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC). It is one of the three Master’s programs the  Commission offers.

The fund aims to empower gifted and motivated people with the knowledge and skills they need for sustainable development. It also aims at helping people who couldn’t afford the fees for studying in the UK.

Funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office (FCDO), it enables many to partake in a full-time Master’s study. It also opens the doors for students from eligible lower and middle-income Commonwealth countries.

The scholarships come under six CSC development themes. They are:

  • Promoting prosperity around the world
  • Strengthening resilience and response to issues
  • Enhancing worldwide peace, governance, and security
  • Strengthening health systems
  • Access, inclusion, and opportunity
  • Science and technology

Scholarship Benefits

There are numerous benefits when running on a Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship. Some of the benefits include:

  • Tuition fees provision
  • Living allowance, which is an estimate of 1,000 euros every month. The funding can go up to 1,300 euros per month for those in the London Metropolitan area.
  • Airfare from your home country to the UK and when returning at the end of the award
  • Grants towards costs of preparing for a thesis or dissertation in cases where it applies
  • Grants towards costs of study-related travels within and outside the United States where it applies
  • If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, allowances for children. Funding could go up to 85 euros for the first child and 120 euros for the second and third. This funding applies if your children are under 16 years and live with you in the UK.
  • Additional financial support from the CSC if you have any form of disability. The support covers a full assessment of your needs.
  • Allowance for warm clothing in cases where it applies
  • Other supports
READ This:  Nottingham Developing Solutions Scholarship 2022

Scholarship Eligibility

There are specific criteria that you must meet to qualify for this scholarship. To apply for this scholarship and stand a chance at success, you must:

  • Be a citizen of the eligible Commonwealth countries. You are also suitable if you have refugee status in such a country or a British Protected Person. Visit the official site to see a list of the eligible countries.
  • Be a permanent resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class honors standard or a second class degree. You must also have an acceptable postgraduate qualification. You should know that CSC would not fund a second UK Master’s degree unless you provide good reasons for this.
  • Be available to start your studies in the UK once the UK academic year commences
  • Have all documents which the scholarship require and in the formats acceptable
  • Be unable to fund your studying in the UK without this scholarship

The scholarship encourages application from a diverse range of studies. It also enables disability support, so disabilities are no hindrances. The CSC administers this scholarship with transparency and equality and is open to reports for fraudulent or dubious acts.

How to Apply for the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships

Before you apply for this scholarship, there are certain documents that you must put in place. These are the supporting documents, and you must submit them before the deadlines. They include:

  • All transcripts that details all higher education qualifications
  • Proof that you are a citizen in an eligible Commonwealth country. If you have refugee status, provide documents to prove this instead. This document is your valid passport or ID card that shows all your details.
  • References from two individuals to submit themselves to the online application system. 

With these documents ready, proceed to follow the application process. You can apply through a selected non-governmental organization and charitable body or your national nominating agency.

READ This:  Scholarships to Study Anywhere 2022

An approved nominating body nominates you for the scholarship as the CSC expects. After this, you submit your application through the Electronic Application System (EAS). The online application demands details concerning your schooling history and overall academic potential.

After cross checking and submitting your application, sit back and relax for the selection process. The CSC will consider your application with the following parameters:

  • Your quality of the plan of study
  • Your academic merit
  • Impact of your studying on the development of your home country

About Commonwealth of Nations

During the early colonial era, Great Britain was one of the giants of the world as it is today. With its power, there were certain countries Britain colonized and ruled. However, as modern governmental systems set in, these countries broke free and became independent.

The coming together of these countries, which Britain previously controlled, is known as the Commonwealth of Nations. It is a political association of 54 member states, all being Britain’s former territories except a few. Furthermore, the concept behind the formation is prosperity, democracy, and peace.

Major institutions in the organization are the Commonwealth Secretariat and the Commonwealth Foundation. The Secretariat is the arm that focuses on the intergovernmental aspects, while the Foundation focuses on non-governmental relations.

In 1926, at the 1926 Imperial Conference, it began as the British Commonwealth of Nations through the Balfour Declaration. In 1931, the United Kingdom formalized it through the Statute of Westminster. The London Declaration of 1949 formally constituted the present Commonwealth of Nations that modernized the community.

The head of the Commonwealth remains the Queen of England, and the current leader is Queen Elizabeth II. However, the position for the Commonwealth is not hereditary. Elizabeth II is the head of 15 member states known as the Commonwealth realms.

The member states have no connections but come together through English and other historical ties. Other 39 states that are not under the queen are republics, but 5 have their monarchs. They all share a Commonwealth Charter, which has human rights values, the rule of law, and democracy embedded.

Leave a Reply